Select Page
2022 Family Medicine Residents
GME group photo

Praseeda Akella

I was born and raised in India. I completed my bachelor’s in medicine and surgery and graduated from GSL Medical College.

I chose Family Medicine because it allows me to work with a more diverse group of people and patients. We can also develop lasting relationships with patients. I am passionate about preventive medicine, and I look forward to providing quality care to the community.

Apart from medicine, I love traveling, exploring new things, cooking, and spending time with my family and friends.

Tengiz, Emre MD Headshot MHG_3896
Piu Dey

Omar Arshad

I was born and raised in Corona, California. I was drawn to Family Medicine as it allows you to work with patients early and partner with them to make the changes needed to prevent disease.

However, the biggest draw will always be the opportunity for lasting relationships with patients.

Outside of medicine my interests include sports, particularly basketball, working out and anything that can be done outside.

Sheetal Chopra

I was born and raised in Maryland. I graduated from the University of Maryland Baltimore County with a Bachelor of Science in Biology. I attended Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences. 

Before medical school, I did research at the John Hopkins University School of Medicine in genetics. I volunteered in Baltimore, Maryland, to help patients connect to social resources, which in turn helps to improve their overall well-being and health. I also was a high school tutor through AmeriCorps. These experiences helped shape my belief that it is essential to treat the whole patient, not just the disease, and inspired me to pursue Family Medicine. 

I am passionate about women’s health and preventive medicine. My goal as a physician is to help educate patients about their bodies and health, so they can advocate for themselves and be active members of their health care teams. 

I look forward to serving the Gulfport community and providing quality care. I hope to work with our community to create patient-friendly health education tools and to continue advocating for women’s health.

I enjoy spending time with my family, dog, and friends. I love traveling and learning about different cultures, from their food to their art. I enjoy painting, baking, and basketball.

Tengiz, Emre MD Headshot MHG_3896
Nazli Goktepe

Dylan Cooper

I am from Idaho and originally graduated with a business degree where I became a manager for plasma donation centers. After eight years in plasma donation, I decided to pursue a career in medicine and attended St. George’s University in Grenada.

I am excited about a career in family medicine and am specifically passionate about sports medicine and rehabilitation.

I have 3 children, 2 dogs, a cat, and 2 guinea pigs. In my spare time I love to be with my children and wife. Together we enjoy volleyball, basketball, softball, corn hole, bike rides, and beach days. 

Jonathan Hamilton

I was born in the small town of Louisville, MS. I spent my childhood taking care of animals on our farm with my two sisters. I earned my bachelor’s degree at the University of Alabama at Birmingham, my master’s degree at Mississippi College, and my medical degree at University of Mississippi Medical Center.

Growing up in a rural area taught me how important a physician is to his community. I am extremely passionate about serving a rural area in Mississippi.

My hobbies include, video games, reading, baseball, and playing with my family dog named Bentley.

Gurwinder Kaur
Arjun Meiyappan

Pirooz Hassanzadeh

I was born in England and grew up in Iran where I obtained my Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering. I then pursued higher education and received a Master of Science in Computer & Network Engineering from Sheffield Hallam University, UK and a Master of Science in Finance from Boston College. Prior to joining medical school, I spent a few years working in the automotive, finance, and insurance industries. I then completed premedical studies at Harvard University and attended Saint George’s University School of Medicine in Grenada for basic sciences followed by clinical science training in Southern California. I am currently pursuing a Master of Science in Public Health with a concentration in preventive medicine.

I am interested in integrating information technology and preventive medicine to devise efficient methods improving the public’s health, particularly in the underserved communities.

I enjoy all sports, culinary arts, traveling, learning about new cultures and languages, and hiking.

Benson Lukose

I was born in India, and moved to Maryland when I was three, where I grew up for most of my life. I went to college at UMBC for my Bachelors In Biological Sciences and completed my medical education at SABA University School of Medicine in the Caribbean.

I chose Family Medicine mostly because of the different opportunities to make an impact in the community and having completed a majority of my rotations in rural areas you see the wide impact that a good FM doctor can have where resources are limited.

In my free time I enjoy playing sports mostly basketball football and baseball as well as playing piano.

Surbhibahen Modi
Dr. Michael Samel

Eugide Othepa

I was born in Kinshasa, D. R. Congo and moved to Arlington, VA when I was sixteen years old. I studied Cellular and Molecular Biology at Hampton University. Following graduation, I moved to Dominica, West Indies where I attended Ross University School of Medicine to pursue my lifelong goal of becoming a physician. 

My goal as a family physician is to educate and provide quality care to the community that I serve. 

My professional interests include academic medicine, preventive medicine, sport medicine, and women’s health.

As a native French speaker, I enjoy learning how to make French cuisines. I love all types of physical activity, but my favorite activity is playing soccer. Spending time with my family and friends, exploring new music, and reading books are also among my favorite activities. 

Travis B. Webster

I was born in Los Angeles and did my undergraduate work at California State University – Northridge. I then when to St. George’s University for medical school and did my clinical rotations in Florida. It was during that time I knew I wanted to train and practice medicine in the south, as I fell in love with the region. 

My interests in medicine lie in primary care, especially in cardiovascular and diabetes care. 

In my free time, I enjoy spending time with my family, playing with my dog, watching sports, reading, or doing anything in the great outdoors. 

Thinn Zaw
Memorial Logo White

Family Medicine

Internal Medicine

4500 Thirteenth Street
PO Box 1810
Gulfport, MS 39501

Skip to content